STAAR Testing
State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness


The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) – pronounced “star,” replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) in the spring of 2012.

STAAR includes annual assessments for the following grade levels and content areas:

  • Reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
  • Writing at grades 4 and 7
  • Science at grades 5 and 8
  • Social studies at grade 8
High school students will complete End of Course (EOC) exams in each of the five areas listed below:
  • Algebra I
  • Biology
  • English I
  • English II
  • US History

Education Support Center
2425 E. Main Street   |   League City, Texas 77573   |   (281) 284-0000
Site Disclaimer      |      Site Map      |       Report a Broken Link
© Copyright 2009-2012. All Rights Reserved. *Some sections of this site require: Adobe® READER®, Adobe® FLASH® player and iTunes®.
Site Optimized for IE8+, 1024 x 768 Display Setting.