Communications Department
District News & Updates

Five school boards selected as 2014 Honor School Boards

Board of Trustees 2013-2014

AUSTIN— Five school boards from across the state were selected today as Texas Honor School Boards in the Texas Association of School Administrators’ annual School Board Awards Program. The awards program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards whose commitment and service have made a positive impact on our public school students.

Since 1971, this prestigious program has honored boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that make every effort to put students first. The five school boards selected as 2014 Texas Honor School Boards are:

  • Clear Creek ISD, ESC 4, superintendent Greg Smith
  • Plano ISD, ESC 10, superintendent Richard Matkin
  • Arlington ISD, ESC 11, superintendent Marcelo Cavazos
  • Midway ISD, ESC 12, superintendent George Kazanas
  • Culberson County-­‐Allamoore ISD, ESC 18, superintendent Marc Puig
The five finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, where one school board will be named the Outstanding School Board of the Year. All five honor board finalists, as well as the Regional winners will be recognized Sept. 27 at 10:30 a.m. during the Second General Session in Exhibit Hall F of the Dallas Convention Center. The four Regional Honor Boards are:
  • Palestine ISD, ESC 7, superintendent Jason Marshall
  • Aquilla ISD, ESC 12, superintendent David Edison
  • Hutto ISD, ESC 13, superintendent Douglas Killian
  • Northside ISD, ESC 20, superintendent Brian Woods
The Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by René Gutiérrez, superintendent of Edinburg ISD, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board in 2013. The selection committee’s decisions are based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

TASA is the professional association for Texas public school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. Our mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-­‐centered schools and develop future-­‐ready students.

Education Support Center
2425 E. Main Street   |   League City, Texas 77573   |   (281) 284-0000
Site Disclaimer      |      Site Map      |       Report a Broken Link
© Copyright 2009-2012. All Rights Reserved. *Some sections of this site require: Adobe® READER®, Adobe® FLASH® player and iTunes®.
Site Optimized for IE8+, 1024 x 768 Display Setting.