Communications Department
District News & Updates

CCISD 2012-2013 Press Release

Office of Communications
2425 East Main Street
League City, Texas 77573

Contact: Janice Scott, Assistant Director
Office of Communications
(281) 284-0020 or

November 18, 2014
CCISD Paints the Town Blue in Honor of Stewart Elementary

(left to right): State Senator Larry Taylor, CCISD Board of Trustee Dee Scott, CCISD Superintendent Dr. Greg Smith, CCISD Board of Trustee Page Rander, Stewart Elementary Principal Dr. Britani Moses, CCISD Board of Trustees Vice President Laura DuPont, CCISD Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Education Holly Hughes, CCISD Board of Trustees President Win Weber, CCISD Board of Trustee Ann Hammond, CCISD Executive Director for Curriculum and Instruction and former Stewart Elementary Principal Debbie Phillips and former Stewart Elementary Principal Jerry Pat Taylor.

Not even near-freezing temperatures could cool the warm hearts at LaVace Stewart Elementary as Clear Creek ISD students, staff, administrators, families and community members gathered to celebrate the school’s 2014 National Blue Ribbon School designation.

Students and teachers donned blue shirts, shook noise makers and cheered excitedly as they proudly paraded around their campus. The parade, led by the Clear Falls High School JROTC Color Guard and the Clear Falls High School Band Drum Line, also included CCISD administrators and community dignitaries riding along in golf carts.

Inside, Stewart Elementary, Principal Dr. Britani Moses looked out on a sea of blue as she welcomed State Senator Larry Taylor who presented a proclamation to the school on behalf of himself and State Representative Greg Bonnen. Wanda Zimmer, mayor pro tem of the City of Kemah and Vern Johnson, mayor of the City of Clear Lake Shores also declared it LaVace Stewart Elementary Day in their communities.

CCISD Superintendent Dr. Greg Smith applauded the efforts of the entire Stewart Elementary family for the National Blue Ribbon School designation and congratulated Principal Moses on winning the prestigious Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Dr. Moses was one of only eight principals to receive the award presented by the U.S. Department of Education. “She received this award for her helping you meet your highest potential and for her commitment to education,” Dr. Smith told the students. “She is a powerful and liberating force in education.”

After CCISD Board of Trustees President Win Weber addressed the crowd, the program closed with an enthusiastic rendition of the school song, led by the Stewart Elementary Choir. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public elementary, middle and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or academic progress that demonstrates dramatic gains in student achievement. This year, the U.S. Department of Education only recognized 25 schools in Texas as National Blue Ribbon Schools and CCISD is home to two of them: LaVace Stewart Elementary and James F. Bay Elementary. The Blue Ribbon Celebration for Bay Elementary is scheduled for Friday, November 21 at Seabrook Sports Complex with a student parade at 1 p.m. and a program at 1:30 p.m.

Education Support Center
2425 E. Main Street   |   League City, Texas 77573   |   (281) 284-0000
Site Disclaimer      |      Site Map      |       Report a Broken Link
© Copyright 2009-2012. All Rights Reserved. *Some sections of this site require: Adobe® READER®, Adobe® FLASH® player and iTunes®.
Site Optimized for IE8+, 1024 x 768 Display Setting.