Communications Department
District News & Updates

Office of Communications
2425 East Main Street
League City, Texas 77573

Contact: Janice Scott, Assistant Director
Office of Communications
(281) 284-0020 or

 May 13, 2015

Clear Creek ISD Teachers and Principals of the Year Announced

Honored at May 11 Luncheon

League City, Texas – The Rotary Clubs of Space Center, Seabrook and League City honored CCISD’s 44 campus teachers of the year at a luncheon at South Shore Habour Resort and Conference Center on Monday, May 11, 2015. The 2015 Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year were announced as was the CCISD Elementary and High School Principal of the Year.

Tonia Roque is the CCISD Elementary Teacher of the Year. The Landolt Elementary 4th grade teacher is a National Board Certified Teacher who started as a classroom teacher 20 years ago. She believes all students are capable of exceptional learning, but that not all students learn the same way. It is her mission to create learning opportunities to help all students succeed in the classroom.

Anthony Tran is the CCISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. The Clear Falls High School math teacher came to this country at 14-years old unable to speak English. He now teaches AP calculus, college prep math and geometry. Tran sees all his students as “gifted” and deserving of a quality, equal education. He believes academic success can only happen when students experience personal and emotional success.    

Clear Creek ISD Congratulates both Tonia Roque and Anthony Tran as well as the other 2015 finalists: Miriam Hakam Bailey, Whitcomb Elementary 1st Grade Teacher, Tammy Verstrate, Stewart Elementary Bilingual Kindergarten Teacher, Teresa Cotton, Clear Springs High School Math Teacher and Lindy Goodwin, Clear Lake High School English Teacher.

Both Anthony Tran and Tonia Roque will now move forward to the regional and hopefully state selection process for Texas Teacher of the Year. They each received $1,500 from the Rotary Clubs of League City, Seabrook, and Space Center.  Finalists received $500 each. Click here to learn more about the CCISD Teachers of the Year.

CCISD also honored the 2015 Principals of the Year. Dr. Britani Moses, Principal of Stewart Elementary School was selected as the CCISD Elementary Principal of the Year and Clear Lake High School Principal Dr. Karen Engle was chosen as Secondary Principal of the Year. The duo was nominated by their peers as both campus and district leaders.

Education Support Center
2425 E. Main Street   |   League City, Texas 77573   |   (281) 284-0000
Site Disclaimer      |      Site Map      |       Report a Broken Link
© Copyright 2009-2012. All Rights Reserved. *Some sections of this site require: Adobe® READER®, Adobe® FLASH® player and iTunes®.
Site Optimized for IE8+, 1024 x 768 Display Setting.