Communications Department
District News & Updates

CCISD Press Releases 2015-16

CCISD Teacher Named Finalist for 2015 Presidential Award

The Texas Commissioner of Education, Michael Williams, announced 10 teachers from across the state have been named as finalists for the 2015 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) including Seabrook Intermediate’s Sheri Cole.

The 7th grade science teacher is one of five Texas teachers designated as the 2015 finalists in secondary science.
“Sheri Cole is always looking for new ways to implement the use of technology in the classroom,” said Principal David Williams. “She is a very dedicated teacher who goes above and beyond to implement interactive learning for her students.” Cole is featured in a CCISD video highlighting the District’s Science Magnet Program at Seabrook Intermediate School. She will be honored at the August 31, 2015 CCISD Board of Trustees meeting at the Education Support Center, 2425 E. Main Street in League City,77586.

The 2015 PAEMST recognizes mathematics and science teachers whose innovative methods bring teaching to life in the classroom. It is the highest recognition a mathematics or science teacher may receive for exemplary teaching in the United States. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on the behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. "These 10 finalists represent the very best of Texas public education," said Commissioner Williams. "The work of these educators helps to spotlight on a national level the outstanding work taking place in math and science classrooms across our state every school day."

To achieve recognition through this program, a teacher first must be nominated for the award. A state panel of master teachers, specialists, and administrators reviewed the applications and chose the most outstanding mathematics and science teachers for the National Science Foundation to consider for national awardee status. After the initial selection process at the state or territorial level, a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators may select up to two teachers from each state and U.S. jurisdiction for the national award. PAEMST winners receive $10,000, a citation signed by the President of the United States, and a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend recognition events and professional development opportunities. In addition, all of the 2015 finalists for Texas will also be recognized by the State Board of Education. For additional information about the PAEMST program, visit

Education Support Center
2425 E. Main Street   |   League City, Texas 77573   |   (281) 284-0000
Site Disclaimer      |      Site Map      |       Report a Broken Link
© Copyright 2009-2012. All Rights Reserved. *Some sections of this site require: Adobe® READER®, Adobe® FLASH® player and iTunes®.
Site Optimized for IE8+, 1024 x 768 Display Setting.